Skip to main content

Library Research: Databases

A guide on how to use the library and its resources to do research and find books & e-Books, journals & articles, videos & music, and other materials.

Searching Databases

The library subscribes to many different databases. A database is basically a large electronic warehouse, accessible online, which stores the content (articles and other information) from journals, magazines, and other publications. Some databases focus on a particular subject or topic (nursing/allied health, psychology, or history, etc.), while others are more general and contain information about many different subjects and topics. Each database offers further instruction on how to use their site. Look for Help/Support/FAQ links within each database.

The databases link on the library homepage (http://sanjuancollege.edu/learning/departments/library/research/library-database/) brings you to a list of databases By Subject. This helps narrow down the long list of databases to ones which are most likely to have information related to the subject or topic you're researching. You can also view an A-to-Z list of all our databases by clicking on the By Title tab.

Remember, when searching for articles in a database, be sure to always click the Full Text checkbox. This ensures that all articles in the search results contain the full text of the article and not just a preview or summary. If your assignment requires you to use scholarly/academic or peer-reviewed sources, click the Peer Reviewed checkbox also.

Databases overview

Watch this short video for a quick introduction to library databases.

Searching databases

Watch this short video for tips on effective searching within databases.

Journals and "Peer Review"

Watch this short video for information on journals, the articles they contain, and what "peer review" means.

87027b