Brainfuse is a program provided by the New Mexico State Library that allows users to search for more information about particular jobs, as well as providing general career resources, resume and interview help.
Career One Stop is a program provided by the U.S. Department of Labor to provide information about different careers, job training, and various programs offered by the government to help connect people with jobs. It also provides specific supports for different groups such as veterans, entry level workers, and Spanish speakers.
LinkedIn is a business and employment oriented social media site that operates via websites and mobile apps. Linkedin allows you to create a digital resumes, to connect with employers, and to connect with other people in the same field.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a product of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (part of the U.S. Department of Labor) that can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations. Information is broken down into various categories. For biology, the category would be "Life, Physical, and Social Sciences."
The New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions is a state initiative that provides information to people in the workforce and employers. It provides a legal resource for the laws in the state as well as connecting employers with employees.
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment is a state initiative that provides information to people in the workforce and employers. It provides a legal resource for the laws in the state as well as connecting employers with employees.
Career Coach is a tool created by Lightcast and hosted by San Juan College that helps connect students to careers and career resources. The primary tool of Career Coach is a test that helps connect a student's interest to careers. It also assists students in creating resumes and provides a database of career options.
Note: A San Juan College Account is required to access these materials.
This website, from Utah Tech University, focuses on the different career paths that students from the college have taken as well as what makes history majors unique in the job field.
For many people who are interested in history, they may want to turn their interest into a career in education. Due to longstanding teacher shortages, New Mexico has several pathways for history graduates to become teachers. This website, from the New Mexico Department of Public Education outlines the requirements for you to turn your degree into a teaching career.
Frequently, people who are interested in history are concerned about their career prospects, fearing unemployment or underemployment. This article in Perspectives of History (the magazine of the American Historical Association) attempts to use statistics to break down some of the myths of unemployment with a history degree.
The American Historical Association has one of the largest job boards for careers in the field of history. The AHA primarily focuses on educational positions in the U.S. and Canada.
Note, many of these positions may require a graduate degree or other specialized training.
The National Council on Public History job board is a free service the organization provides to the public history profession. The jobs hosted on this job boards tend to focus on work that deals with the public such as museums, libraries, archives, preservation, and conservation.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a product of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (part of the U.S. Department of Labor) that can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations. Information is broken down into various categories. For history, the category would be "Life, Physical, and Social Sciences."
