History

American Nineteenth Century History is a peer-reviewed, transatlantic journal published by the Association of British American Nineteenth Century Historians devoted to the history of the United States during the long nineteenth century. It welcomes contributions on themes and topics relating to America in this period. In addition to articles based on original research, historiographical pieces, reassessments of historical controversies, and reappraisals of prominent events or individuals are welcome. Special issues devoted to a particular theme or topic will also be considered.

Access is available online only.

The American Quarterly is a peer reviewed journal published by the American Studies Association, which seeks to study American Studies (a branch of American history) which focuses on a broad, humanistic understanding of American culture, the journal encourages cross-disciplinary work.

Journal is available online only.

Arizona and the West is a peer reviewed journal published by the University of Arizona press. The journal is the first journal of Western American history, focusing on regional studies of the American Southwest, northern Mexico, and the US-Mexico borderlands.

Renamed to the Journal of the Southwest in 1987.

Available physically and digitally via JSTOR.

Civil War History is a peer reviewed journal published by the Kent State University press, focused on the entire scope of the American Civil War era, from the genesis of the sectional crisis through Reconstruction and beyond, highlighting the ramifications of warfare on society. Its topics include slavery and abolition, antebellum and Reconstruction politics, diplomacy, social and cultural developments in mid–nineteenth century America, and military history.

Access is available online only .

The Hispanic American Historical Review is a peer reviewed journal published by the Conference on Latin American History of the American Historical Association. The journal was the first journal on Latin American History, and is one of the most prominent journals on this topic. The journal includes brief notices to review essays, on every facet of scholarship on Latin American history and culture.

Available digitally only.

The Journal of American Ethnic History is a peer reviewed journal published by the Immigration and Ethnic History Society, which focuses on various aspects of North American immigration history and American ethnic history, including background of emigration, ethnic and racial groups, Native Americans, race and ethnic relations, immigration policies, and the processes of incorporation, integration, and acculturation.

Journal is available only online.

The Journal of Military History is a peer reviewed journal hosted by the Virginia Military Institute and the Society for Military History focusing on the history of armed conflict. . The Journal--published in January, April, July, and October-- includes scholarly articles and book reviews on topics in military history from all chronological periods and geographical areas.

Access is available online only.

The Journal of Southern History is a peer reviewed journal published by the Journal of Southern History. The journal is a quarterly devoted to the history of the American South and is unrestricted as to chronological period, methodology, or southern historical topic

Note, the publishers, Southern Historical Association is not affiliated with the Southern Historical Society, which promoted Lost Cause mythology.

Journal is available online only.

The Journal of the Early Republic is a peer reviewed journal published by the Society for Historians of the Early American Republic. The journal focuses on the history of culture of the early periods of American history (1776–1861).

Access is available online only.

Originally founded in 1959 as Arizona and the West, the Journal of the Southwest is a Peer Reviewed Journal published by University of Arizona. The Journal is a multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed quarterly dedicated to an integrated regional study of the American Southwest, northern Mexico, and the US-Mexico borderlands. Journal of the Southwest publishes broadly across disciplines including intellectual and social history, gender and women’s studies, LGBTQ studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, folklore, politics, borderlands studies, literature, photography, geography, and natural history and ecology.

Journal is available online only.

The Journal of World History is a peer reviewed journal published by the World History Association. The journal publishes research into historical questions requiring the investigation of evidence on a global, comparative, cross-cultural, or transnational scale. It is devoted to the study of phenomena that transcend the boundaries of single states, regions, or cultures, such as large-scale population movements, long-distance trade, cross-cultural technology transfers, and the transnational spread of ideas.

Journal is available online only.

The New Mexico Historical Review is a peer reviewed journal published by University of New Mexico and the New Mexico Historical society which is one of the oldest and most distinguished historical journals in the country. Publishing high-quality research on New Mexico and the Southwest, including Northern Mexico, each issue is filled with scholarly articles, book reviews and notes on new publications, news and current events.

This journal is available Physically Only

Reviews in American History is a peer reviewed journal published by Johns Hopkins University Press. The journal offers anyone interested in American history a way to stay current with the discipline. Each issue presents in-depth review essays about the latest books in American history. Retrospective essays examining landmark works written by leading historians are also regularly featured. The journal covers all areas of American history, including cutting-edge and more traditional sub-fields.

Access is available online only.

The Oral History Review is a Peer Reviewed Journal Published by the Oral History Association, focused on the theory and practice of oral history and related fields. The journal is particularly interested in articles that move beyond project descriptions to bring transferable lessons, thus advancing our understanding of oral history and the people scholars work with. The journal welcomes submissions from all scholarly disciplines, as well as professional and community realms, that engage directly and deeply with oral history.

Access is available online

American heritage is a popular press magazine published by the American Heritage Publishing Company. The magazine provides information about American history for the layperson. The magazine stopped publishing print editions in 2017.

Note: American Heritage is not associated with the Heritage Foundation.

Journal is available online only.

American History is a popular press magazine published by the Cowles Company. The magazine focuses on various articles on U.S. history. In addition to coverage of historical events, it features photos and editorials to round out the most versatile look back to the U.S..

Access is available online

America's Civil War is a popular press magazine published by Empire Press (and later Cowles Company). The magazine focuses on the history of the Civil War, including photos and editorials to round off their coverage of this particular, historical, incident.

Access is available online.

Arizona Highways is a popular press magazine published by the State of Arizona Department of Transportation. The magazine focuses on fostering tourism in Arizona by publishing high quality photography as well as articles on Arizona history and culture.

Access is available physically at San Juan College and digitally via their website.

Early American Life is a popular press magazine originally published by the Early American Society, and later published by Firelands Media Group LLC. The magazine focuses on early American traditions, period style, antiques, architecture and history.

Access is available online.

La Crónica de Nuevo México is the newsletter of the Historical Society of New Mexico. The newsletter provides information about the actions of the society and provides short vignettes about New Mexico history. The newsletter is published quarterly.

The website, hosted by the University of New Mexico Libraries, includes all 122 entries.

The New Mexico Magazine is a state magazine published by the New Mexico Department of Tourism. The magazine is published monthly and focuses on the heritage, arts, climate, environment, and diverse people of the state.

Access is available online and physically.

Perspectives on History is the newsmagazine of the American Historical Association and is the principal source for news and information about the discipline of history. Since 1962, Perspectives has cultivated the community of historians and promoted our work by publishing articles and commentary on all aspects of the historical discipline.

Access is available via the website.

The Wild West Magazine is a popular press magazine published by Empire Press and later the Cowles History Group. The magazine focuses on the various historical events and legends that happened in the western United States during the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Access is available online.

The World War II Magazine is a popular press magazine published by Empire Press (and later Cowles Company). The magazine focuses on the history of WWII, including photos and editorials to round off their coverage of this particular, historical, incident.

Access is available online.