Mathematics

Twenty-three mathematical masterpieces for exploration and enlightenment "A mind-broadening experience."--Paul J. Campbell, Mathematics Magazine How can a shape have more than one dimension but fewer than two? What is the best way to elect public officials when more than two candidates are vying for the office? Is it possible for a highly accurate medical test to give mostly incorrect results? Can you tile your floor with regular pentagons? How can you use only the first digit of sales numbers to determine if your accountant is lying? Can mathematics give insights into free will?   Edward Scheinerman, an accomplished mathematician and enthusiastic educator, answers all these questions and more in this book, a collection of mathematical masterworks. In bite-sized chapters that require only high school algebra, he invites readers to try their hands at solving mathematical puzzles and provides an engaging and friendly tour of numbers, shapes, and uncertainty. The result is an unforgettable introduction to the fundamentals and pleasures of thinking mathematically.

US

Quantitative methods have become essential in economic forecasting, allocation of resources, portfolio analysis, inventory analysis, data-mining, and new and innovative solutions to myriad social and climate challenges. The aim of this text is to provide a basic understanding of these quantitative methods. Using topics such as finite mathematics, mathematics of finance, differential calculus, optimization, and curve fitting, this text provides the tools needed to solve modern business problems.  FEATURES: Covers a review of algebra, finite math, mathematics of finance, differential calculus, optimization, and curve fitting Feature numerous, realistic, business applications including cash flow, amortization, interest, loans, annuities, revenue/cost models, break-even, ordering, inventory control, profit/margin models, econometrics, and more Provides extensive in-text examples and end of section exercises with key terms, key concepts, and appendices at the end of each chapter to reinforce material Uses multiple tables, charts and graphs to illustrate topics Includes PowerPoint slides for the instructor.

Winner of the Mathematics Association of America's 2021 Euler Book Prize, this is an inclusive vision of mathematics--its beauty, its humanity, and its power to build virtues that help us all flourish   "This is perhaps the most important mathematics book of our time. Francis Su shows mathematics is an experience of the mind and, most important, of the heart."--James Tanton, Global Math Project   "A good book is an entertaining read. A great book holds up a mirror that allows us to more clearly see ourselves and the world we live in. Francis Su's Mathematics for Human Flourishing is both a good book and a great book."--MAA Reviews   For mathematician Francis Su, a society without mathematical affection is like a city without concerts, parks, or museums. To miss out on mathematics is to live without experiencing some of humanity's most beautiful ideas.   In this profound book, written for a wide audience but especially for those disenchanted by their past experiences, an award‑winning mathematician and educator weaves parables, puzzles, and personal reflections to show how mathematics meets basic human desires--such as for play, beauty, freedom, justice, and love--and cultivates virtues essential for human flourishing. These desires and virtues, and the stories told here, reveal how mathematics is intimately tied to being human. Some lessons emerge from those who have struggled, including philosopher Simone Weil, whose own mathematical contributions were overshadowed by her brother's, and Christopher Jackson, who discovered mathematics as an inmate in a federal prison. Christopher's letters to the author appear throughout the book and show how this intellectual pursuit can--and must--be open to all.

This book provides over 250 quick review problems with complete, step-by-step solutions for all types of mechanical engineering exams. It covers all the important mathematical concepts used in mechanical engineering, physics, and other sciences, including functions, derivatives, integration, methods of integration, applications of integrals, matrices, complex numbers, and more. Excellent review of key mathematical topics prior to taking the exams. FEATURES: Includes over 250 review problems with complete, step-by-step solutions Covers all the important mathematical concepts used in mechanical engineering including functions, derivatives, integration, methods of integration, applications of integrals, matrices, complex numbers, and more.