Research Guides: Communication Studies: Citations & Help with Writing

Recommended Citation Websites

Because communication studies is an interdisciplinary science, there is no single citation style for communication. As a result, you should cite your sources based on the type of work that you are doing.

For works that are in the field of humanities, citations should be in MLA style.
For works that are in the social sciences, citations should be in APA style.

If you have any questions, ask your professor which citation style you should use for your paper.

MLA Style Center - Modern Language Association
Communication papers written with a humanities focus are frequently cited in MLA. This website, hosted by the Modern Languages Association, is the official website for the citation style, providing a guide for citing sources in MLA as well as various style tips.
APA Style - American Psychological Association
Communication papers written with a social sciences focus are frequently cited in APA. This website, hosted by the American Psychological Association, is the official website for this citation style, providing a guide for citing sources in APA as well as providing style tips.
EasyBib
EasyBib is an automatic citation generator which allows you to create citations for your paper based on information that you provide it. The website also checks for plagiarism and helps identify any grammatical errors.
Online Writing Lab - Purdue University
The Purdue Online Writing lab is an excellent resource providing accurate information on how to cite your sources, avoid plagiarism and how to conduct research. It includes information about all different types of resources and how to cite them. Typically, Purdue OWL is where the reference librarians will go to if they have questions on citations. Purdue OWL has information on MLA, APA, and Chicago Style Citations (as well as other citation styles that are more obscure).

Recommended Citation Books

Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 c. 2

ISBN: 9781433832154

Publication Date: 2020

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. It is the style manual of choice for the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication.
The Concise APA Handbook (7th Edition) by Paul Chamness Iida et al.
Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781648021855

Publication Date: 2020

The Concise APA Handbook explains the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language.
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369.M53 2021 (Reference)

ISBN: 9781603293518

Publication Date: 2021-04-22

The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index
APA/MLA Guidelines by Kaitlyn McNamee
Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781423248590

Publication Date: 2022

Quick reference guide to the essentials of two of the most highly used writing style guides for college–level students. The most frequently used elements of the 7th edition of the American Psychological Association’s publication manual are combined with elements of the 9th edition of the Modern Language Association’s rules of punctuation, reference citation, structure and format. This concise 6 page, colorfully organized guide is filled with the answers you need. APA is used largely in academics, psychology, communications, business, nursing, social sciences, criminology, education, economics and more. MLA is used for language and literature, foreign language, literary criticism and cultural studies.
Cite Right: A Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions, and More (2nd Ed.) by Charles Lipson
Call Number: PN171.F56 L55 2011

ISBN: 9780226484631

Publication Date: 2011-05-15

This new edition of Cite Right, the popular overview of all major systems of citation, has been updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books. Best of all, it's very easy to use.

Recommended Writing Books

Academic Writing by Andrew P. Johnson
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781475823578

Publication Date: 2016-04-30

This book provides a foundation and framework to enhance your understanding of the various processes involved in academic writing. The purpose of this book is to enable you to be an effective writer and thinker in all contexts including your personal and professional lives.
The Elements of Academic Style by Eric Hayot
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780231168007

Publication Date: 2014-08-26

Combining psychological support with practical suggestions for composing introductions and conclusions, developing a schedule for writing, using notes and citations, and structuring paragraphs and essays, this guide to the elements of academic style does its part to rejuvenate scholarship and writing in the humanities.
Stylish Academic Writing by Helen Sword
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780674064485

Publication Date: 2012-04-02

Stylish Academic Writing showcases a range of scholars from the sciences, humanities, and social sciences who write with vividness and panache. Individual chapters take up specific elements of style, such as titles and headings, chapter openings, and structure, and close with examples of transferable techniques that any writer can master.
The Elements of Style by William Strunk; E. White; William Strunk
Call Number: PE1408 .S772 2000

ISBN: 9780205309023

Publication Date: 1999-07-23

You know the authors' names. You recognize the title. You've probably used this book yourself. This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered. This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.

The Elements of Style by William Strunk and E.B. White
A free PDF version of Strunk's classic work. This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.

Writing about Communication

Communication Studies - The Writing Center at University of North Carolina: Chapel Hill
This website, hosted by The Writing Center at University of North Carolina: Chapel Hill, provides a solid overview of the different types of papers that are frequently written in communication studies, providing an overview of the different categories of works. In addition to this, the work provides overviews on choosing a topic for research and the different ways that evidence is used in Communication Studies.
Guide for Writing in Communication Studies - Southwestern University
This article, provided by Southwestern University, describes the different types of writing in communication studies (with a focus on critical papers), the use of evidence in communication papers, conventions, formatting, and providing some general tips for writing.
How to Write a Thesis Statement - Indiana University Writing Services
An important part of writing a research paper is to create a thesis statement, which describes the main idea that your paper focuses on. This website from Indiana University provides a good guide focusing on what to include in a thesis statement for a research paper.
Writing Tips - University of Indiana: Bloomington
An overview of various writing tips from Indiana University Bloomington's library. These tips provide a brief overview of the various style guides, inclusive language, and gender inclusive writing. While the libguide is focused on American Indian Studies, the information included i broadly applicable.

Evaluating Websites

To evaluate a website (or any source you encounter), use the following criteria:

Currency

1. When was the page created and/or updated?
2. Do the links on the page work?
3. Does your topic require current information?

Relevance

1. Does the information relate to your topic?
2. Who is the intended audience? Is the level too elementary or advanced for your needs?
3. Do the links lead to other reputable sites?

Authority

1. What type of organization published this site? (.edu, .gov, .org, .com).
2. Who is the author, publisher or source? Is there contact information?
3. Is the author qualified to write on this topic?

Accuracy

1. Where does the information come from? Has it been reviewed (Peer reviewed)?
2. Is the information supported by evidence? Can you verify it in another source?
3. Are there spelling, grammar or typing errors?

Purpose

1. Always ask, why was this written and for whom.
2. Is the purpose of this site to teach, inform, entertain, sell or persuade?
3. Is the information factual, opinion or propaganda, objective or impartial?
4. Are there political, religious, cultural, ideological or personal biases?
5. Is advertising clearly differentiated from the informational content?

Use this worksheet to evaluate sources.