Communication Studies

An overview of 8 tips to improve your communication skills. These are useful no matter what field that you are in. It includes tips such as be clear and concise, prepare ahead of time, and watching your tone.

A database of all articles in the Harvard Business Review, a popular press magazine, that are focused on the topic of business communication. The articles published in the Harvard Business Review include information for business owners and others in the field of business communication about the most recent developments in the field and how to best communicate with other members of your business and your clients.

This website, by the Salisbury University Library Special Collections Nabb Research Center focuses on informing people about what propaganda is and how it works. The website begins by defining propaganda then goes into different types of propaganda such as propaganda leaflets, logos, and flag waving. It includes propaganda from the U.S., U.K., Soviet Union, China, and other countries.

An overview of Health Communication resources for practitioners in the field and the general public. It includes a section for trainings, tools, & templates, which includes trainings on various elements of health communication and templates for health communication, including sample images that can be used for health communication. The website also includes a link to the Listen Up! Podcast, which focuses on professional development podcast for health communication professionals, including those working at the federal, state, and local levels, and public health students. Finally, the website includes information on various CDC programs that are ongoing, how the campaigns are created, and how they reach their intended audience.

An overview of the two Health Communications publications by the National Cancer Institute (Part of the National Institute of Health). The first article, Making Health Communication Programs Work (Pink Book) focuses on communication program planning that includes strategy development, testing concepts and materials, implementing programs, and more. The second book, Making Data Talk: A Workbook. provides key information, practical suggestions, and examples on how to effectively communicate health-related scientific data to the public, policy makers, and the media. The website includes links to the full texts of both articles.

An overview of the field of business communication by Erie Institute of Technology. The webpage describes what business communication is, the different types of business communication (visual, written, non-verbal, etc), and tips for improving business communication in different ways the workplace.

An Open Educational Resource (OER) textbook hosted by State University of New York: Oneonta focused on Interpersonal Communication. The textbook helps readers examine their own one-on-one communicative interactions using a mindfulness lens. It incorporates the latest communication theory and research to help students navigate everyday interpersonal interactions. The 14 chapters in this book cover topics typically taught in an undergraduate interpersonal communication course: family interactions, interpersonal dynamics, language, listening, nonverbal communication, and romantic relationships, as well as exploring emerging areas such as self-compassion, body positivity, friendships, and “the dark side”.

A brief overview of interpersonal communications by National University in San Diego. The work provides a brief overview of what interpersonal communication is and the different elements that make up interpersonal communication. It then provides tips for improving your interpersonal communication skills and how technology has changed communication.

An Open Educational Resource (OER) textbook from State University of New York, focused on Communication. This work provides a brief overview of all different types of communication as studied in an academic setting. This includes verbal communication, non-verbal communication, research in communication, rhetorical criticism, mass communication, interpersonal communication, group communication, and intercultural communication.

A brief overview of public relations by The Public Relations Student Society of America (the student branch of the Public Relations Society of America). The article includes information about what public relations is and what public relations specialists do. It is a useful overview of the field for somebody who is interested in getting started in the field.

A chapter of a book by Foluke Florence Fatimayin, a professor of communication at National Open University of Nigeria. Her chapter describes what communication is and goes into depth about the different methods of communication and information about the different sub-fields of communication.