Research Guides: Biology: Biology Guide

This guide is intended to assist with locating and retrieving information sources related to studies in Biology.

If you would like to learn more about how to do research using the SJC Library and its resources click here

Please contact the SJC Reference Librarians at 505-566-3256 or libraryref@sanjuancollege.edu with any questions or suggestions.

What is Biology?

From the smallest proteins that make up our cells to the interconnected webs of organisms that mace up our ecosystems, biology is defined as the study of life and living things. Typically, most biologists focus on one particular part of biology. The biology program at San Juan College will introduce you to most parts of the biological sciences. Which part you choose to focus on in your electives and future career are up to you.

Some sub-fields of Biology (not an exhaustive list)

Anatomy and Physiology: Two interconnected branches of biology focused on the structure of our bodies (anatomy) and the functions of the various organs (Physiology)
Biochemistry: Biochemistry is the study of the chemical processes that are needed to support life as well as the chemical interactions between different molecules in the body.
Ecology: The study of living beings in relation to their environment. Ecology also concerns itself with the impact that human activities have had on various ecosystems.
Genetics: The study of the information stored in our DNA, including the way that information is expressed and passed on between different generations. Recent developments have focused on how to manipulate the expression of certain genes.
Microbiology: the study of microscopic organisms (microorganisms) which include bacteria, viruses, cells and the micro-structures of various organs (Histology)
Paleontology: The study of ancient plants and animals through evidence found in the fossil record. Paleontology is an intersection between geology and biology.
Zoology: The study of the classification and behaviors of various animals.

What is Biology? - University of Minnesota: Diluth
This website, provided by University of Minnesota: Diluth, provides a definition of biology as well as a brief overview of the way that biology scales down to the molecular level, and up to the ecosystem level. It also provides some information as to the career opportunities for people who are interested in biology.
Branches of Biology - Nazarbayev University
There are more branches of biology than just the few that I mentioned here. This list of the branches of biology by Nazarbayev University describes the different sub-fields of biology and how they relate to each other.
Biology Degree, AS - San Juan College
An overview of the Biology A.S. Degree at San Juan College. Provides an overview of topics that are covered in the program, why an individual might want to study biology, and some career information. If you are interested in studying Biology at San Juan College, this is your first step!

Biology Study Tips

Study Strategies for Biology - Rhodes College
An overview of various strategies and mindsets to have while studying the biological sciences from Rhodes College. This includes specific study strategies and more general information about the correct mindset to have while studying.
Study tips for Biology Classes - Butte College
An overview of various strategies and mindsets to have while studying the biological sciences from Butte College. This includes specific study strategies and more general information about the correct mindset to have while studying.
How to Study Biology - Northern Arizona University
An overview of various strategies and mindsets to have while studying the biological sciences from Northern Arizona University. This includes specific study strategies and more general information about the correct mindset to have while studying.

Writing a Research Paper

If you would like to learn more about how to do research using the library and its resources click here.

Scientific Writing Made Easy - Ecological Society of America
This article, by the Ecological Society of America describes scientific writing. While an indispensable step of the scientific process, it is often overlooked in undergraduate courses in favor of maximizing class time devoted to scientific concepts. However, the ability to effectively communicate research findings is crucial for success in the biological sciences.
Zotero Citation Manager
Zotero is a free citation manager. Get in the habit of including your references, upload attachments, and automatically generate works cited.
San Juan College Tutoring Center
The Tutoring Center offers tutoring in most subject areas taught at San Juan College. Our peer and professional tutors are available to help SJC, GED, and University Program students.
ZBib Citation Generator
Designed with academics in mind, use the Zotero Bibliography generator. If you plan to write a lot of research-heavy papers, you may want to sign up for Zotero to sort, tag, and cite your information.

Peer Review and Accuracy

What is Peer Review? - Wiley Publishers
An overview of peer review by prominent scientific publisher, Wiley. Peer review is designed to assess the validity, quality and often the originality of articles for publication. Its ultimate purpose is to maintain the integrity of science by filtering out invalid or poor quality articles.
What are Scholarly Sources and Where to Find Them? - Elsevier Author Services
An article by Elsevier Publishers defining what scholarly article is and what makes it different from a standard article. A scholarly source is an article or publication written by a subject-matter expert who ensures that the information it contains is updated, accurate, and of utmost quality. Usually, this information is derived from their findings, theories, analyses, and insights from years of research.
Ten Simple Rules for Reading a Scientific Paper - PLOS Computational Biology
An article from PLOS Computational Biology, describing various tips for how to write a scientific article. For many budding scientists, the first day in a new lab setting often involves a stack of papers, an email full of links to pertinent articles, or some promise of a richer understanding so long as one reads enough of the scientific literature. However, the purpose and approach to reading a scientific article is unlike that of reading a news story, novel, or even a textbook and can initially seem unapproachable.
Anatomy of a Journal Article - Association of Science Communicators
An article by the Association of Science Communicators breaking down the organization of a journal article. Most journal articles follow a standard format: abstract, introduction, results, materials and methods, and discussion.