|
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine
by
In this lucid, readable book Trisha Greenhalgh provides the basics of evidence based medicine: how to find a medical research paper, assess it for its scientific validity, and where relevant, put the findings into practice. Written for anyone, medically qualified or not, who wishes to understand and apply evidence based medicine, How to Read a Paper makes seemingly obscure concepts clear and relevant, using practical examples and considering all the main types of research paper. This book is a comprehensive introduction to the usefulness and potential applications of evidence based medicine in the clinical setting.
Evidence-based Sports Medicine
by
A new departure in sports medicine literature The application of evidence-based principles in sports medicine is addressed in the first part, with an overview of how to review the literature systematically. The subsequent clinical sections use FAQs as the starting point for discussing the evidence in the many orthopedic and soft tissue conditions encountered in sport. Each of the clinical chapters contains a summary of the evidence, clinical examples, and a section of multiple choice and essay questions, providing readers with the opportunity to put the evidence-based approach into practice. For sports medicine practitioners, orthopedic surgeons, sports trainers, and all others with a professional interest in sports medicine. Tom Best, MD is an Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin at Madison.
Pocket Evidence Based Medicine
by
This concise, easy-to-read pocket guide offers medical trainees, researchers, and clinicians at every level the perfect resource on Evidence Based Medicine (EBM). Based on the author's many years of experience teaching EBM to medical students and medical residents at Columbia University, this handy title addresses not only all the basic concepts and issues in EBM, but also takes an example-based approach and is replete with numerous illustrations. This brief book provides readers with all the tools needed to tell the good from the bad in healthcare research. It discusses every type of study design, from the assessment of diagnostic tests to clinical trials and meta-analysis. The work also introduces readers to novel methods, such as the Bayesian analysis of clinical trials. In addition, to help readers better retain the information, the guide includes thought-provoking review questions and answers in an appendix. In all, Pocket Evidence-Based Medicine: A Survival Guide for Clinicians and Students is an ideal resource for anyone who encounters statistics in their studies or career, including clinicians, researchers, trainees in medicine and graduate students in a wide range of other disciplines
Family Health Care Nursing
by
The 7th Edition of a multiple AJN Book of the Year Award Winner! Prepare for the real world of family nursing care! Explore family nursing the way it's practiced today in the United States and Canada--with a theory-guided, evidence-based approach to care throughout the family life cycle that responds to the needs of families and adapts to the changing dynamics of the health care system. From healthpromotion to end of life, a streamlined organization delivers the clinical guidance you need to care for today's families. Access more online. Redeem the code inside new, printed texts to gain access to the answers to the NCLEX®-style questions in the book, plus reference resources and The Friedman Family Assessment Model (short form). Updated, Revised & Expanded!Incorporating the science and evidence-based knowledge that reflects the changes in families, family health, health policy, and the environment which affect the health of families today New! Practice and reflection questions for every case study to help nursing students develop their ability to reflect on their practice of working with families which can challenge their own assumptions, beliefs, and biases New Chapter! Environmental Health and Families Revised! Relational Nursing and Family Nursing in Canada now appearing in the text rather than online New! NCLEX®-style questions in the Appendix to develop critical-thinking and clinical judgment skills related to family nursing A comprehensive overview of family nursing linking family theory and research to clinical implementation An evidence-based, clinical focus emphasizing today's families Case studies with family genograms and ecomaps Three family nursing theories--Family Systems Theory, Developmental and Family Life Cycle Theory, and Bioecological Theory --are threaded throughout the book and are applied in many of the chapter case studies. Canadian-specific content throughout Coverage of families dealing with end-of-life issues
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition
by
Designated a Doody's Core Title! This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP--including how to get the best evidence quickly using various databases and includes coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and stateof-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. The text differentiates between EBP and research, often a difficult distinction for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care includes many practical examples. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question" which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Second Edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare
by
Awarded second place in the 2023 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Nursing Research category! The go-to guide to evidence-based practice in nursing for more than a decade, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 5th Edition, presents the latest perspectives on research-backed nursing practice in an engaging, user-friendly approach that has made this the bestselling resource of its kind. AJN award-winning authors Bernadette Melnyk and Ellen Fineout-Overholt combine straightforward, conversational storytelling, inspiring quotes, and engaging case studies to make evidence-based practice accessible for students at any level of familiarity. With real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter, this revised and reimagined 5th Edition gives students the confidence to meet today's clinical challenges and ensure the most effective patient outcomes for years to come. New to this edition: NEW! Reimagined coverage and a new chapter on applying implementation science to clinical practice settings familiarize students with the latest evidence and emerging implementation and evaluation tools. UPDATED! Content throughout empowers you to more effectively teach evidence-based practice principles in academic and clinical settings. UPDATED! Making EPB Real case studies reinforce clinical application through real-world examples.