|
“Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live.”
– Jim Rohn
Our body is like a well functioning machine. When one part breaks down, it can cause all of the other parts to slow down or start working. If there is a major enough problem, we may have to send that machine to a shop to get it fixed up. Similarly, if we face health issues, we may have to go to a doctor or even a hospital to deal with those symptoms. The purpose of this libguide is to connect people to the different resources related to physical health in the San Juan County area, and beyond. These include ready clinics, hospitals, dental clinics, specialty clinics, and other programs that are geared towards maintaining our physical health.
One problem that many people face when dealing with physical health issues is the issue of cost. Without insurance, Doctor's appointments and emergency procedures can be incredibly expensive. Even with insurance, medical bills and certain medications can be prohibitively expensive. In addition to information about the various health services offered, this section of the libguide will also include information about how to get health insurance as well as the various state and federal programs that provide health insurance.
The San Juan College Student Health Center is a health clinic that allows students to receive treatment for non-emergency and minor illnesses without charge. Seeing the clinic, and many diagnostics are free of charge. The services provided include minor acute care (cutes, scrapes, score throat, UTI), preventative care (STD testing, physical exams, referral for cancer screening, contraceptives), wellness care (health risk assessment, lifestyle management education), and disease management for stable conditions (in many instances, medication management should be done by your primary care physician).
Note: These services are limited to San Juan College students and staff.
Contact us:
Hours:
The health of our teeth is an incredibly important part of our physical health, as they allow us to consume food and speak. However, in many cases, the prohibitive cost of dental work prevents people from maintaining the health of this important part of our body. To help remedy this and to provide hands on training for the students in our dental hygiene program (note that students will be observed by fully licensed dentists and dental hygienists), the San Juan College hosts a Dental Clinic. This dental clinic performs routine dental work such as dental X-rays, teeth cleaning, non-surgical therapy, and other procedures important for maintaining the health of teeth. Because they are performed by students, the procedures are much cheaper than in a dentist's office, but also may take longer.
Note: This services is open to all members of the community.
Contact us:
Hours (Fall Semester August – December)
Hours (Spring semester January – May)
Hours (Summer semester May – July)
The San Juan Regional Medical Center is the primary medical center of the Four Corners Region. The hospital has 198 beds and is considered a Level III trauma center (has resources for emergency resuscitation, surgery, and intensive care of most trauma patients). The hospital has several services such as rehabilitation, childbirth, and behavioral (mental) health (we will discuss the behavioral health clinic more in depth in the mental health section). In addition to the materials in the hospital, San Juan Regional Medical Center has agreements with off-site specialty services such as heart health, neurology, gastroenterology, and family health. As part of the 340b program, the hospital also has major outreach and low-cost medicine programs.
Contact us:
For many who live in the southwestern portion of Colorado, Durango is the closest large town. For these people, the closest hospital would be Mercy Regional Medical Center. While smaller than San Juan Regional Medical center (only having 82 beds) he hospital is a level III trauma center (has resources for the emergency resuscitation, surgery, and intensive care of most trauma patients). The hospital also has breast diagnostics, cancer care, heart care, spine care, and other specialty care. The hospital also maintains outpatient laboratory services at Aztec Urgent Care. The hospital also has outreach programs, notably a large outreach program related to bicycle helmets.
Connect us:
Cortez is another major town just across the state border in Colorado. For people who live in and around Cortez, their primary hospital would be the Southwest Memorial Hospital. The Southwest Memorial Hospital operates a Level IV Trauma Center (specialized equipment and training that allows for the stabilization of a patient to send them to higher levels of care) with 25 beds. In addition to the emergency department, the hospital also has pulmonary specialists, an Infusion department, sleep specialists, imaging, and same day surgery centers. In addition to the primary hospital, Southwest Memorial Hospital also operates two outpatient centers and two clinics, with one being located in Mancos.
Contact us (Central Hospital):
Contact us (SMG Southwest Walk-In Care Clinic)
Contact us (SMG Mancos Valley Clinic (MVC))
Aztec Healthcare is a rehabilitation and long term nursing center. The program provides short-term post-hospital rehabilitation and long-term around the clock nursing care. The organization provides several types of post-acute services such as orthopedic rehabilitation, skilled nursing care, stroke recovery, cardiac care, wound care, pulmonary care, neurological rehabilitation, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, and IV therapy.
Aztec Healthcare is open for people who live in Farmington, Durango, Aztec, Bloomfield, and the Navajo Nation. Aztec Healthcare works with hospitals in New Mexico and Arizona for transfers.
Contact us:
The New Mexico Department of Public Health is a department of the state of New Mexico. The state provides a number of free and low priced services to residents of the state, including medical services for children's (chronic disease management), emergency contraception's, family planning, harm reduction programs (needle exchange), immunizations, vital records (birth certificates and death certificates), refugee health, STD treatment, TB services, and Treatment for substance use disorders.
San Juan County is part of the "Northwest Region" which includes Bernalillo, Valencia, Sandoval, Torrance, Cibola, McKinley, and San Juan Counties.
Contact us:
The Shiprock Northern Navajo Medical Center is one of 12 health care centers on the Navajo Nation. The health center is owned and operated by the Navajo Area Indian Health Service - Shiprock Service Unit. The medical center has 60 beds and operates a level IV Trauma Center (specialized equipment and training that allows for the stabilization of a patient to send them to higher levels of care). In addition, the hospital operates several inpatient and outpatient care practices, including traditional medicine.
The Shiprock Service Unit also operates the Four Corners Regional Health Center in Teec Nos Pos, which provides ambulatory care, sub-acute care ,and community health services as well as the Dzilth-Na-O-Dith-Hle Health Center in Bloomfield, which provides ambulatory and urgent care.
Note: To receive care from the Indian Health Service, you must be enrolled in a federally recognized tribe.
Contact us (Shiprock - Northern Navajo Medical Center)
Hours of Operation (Shiprock - Northern Navajo Medical Center)
Contact us (Four Corners Regional Health Center)
Hours of Operation (Four Corners Regional Health Center)
Contact us (Dzilth-Na-O-Dith-Hle Health Center)
Hours of Operation (Dzilth-Na-O-Dith-Hle Health Center)
Urgent care facilities are designed for medical conditions that need to be treated quickly (injuries and sudden illnesses) but are not considered life threatening emergencies. Unlike an emergency room, these urgent care clinics are not open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and they cannot offer the same level of diagnostic or clinical care that a hospital would.
I have attached a link to the Yelp overview of the different urgent care facilities in San Juan County. The individual pages include contact information as well as their address.
Orthopedic Associates P.A. is the largest orthopedic practice in northern New Mexico. The organization provides several treatment options such as joint replacement, neck/spine surgery, hip/knee surgery, shoulder surgery, elbow/hand surgery, and foot/ankle surgery. IT also offers several other specialties such as sports injuries, soft tissue mobilization, chronic pain management, physical therapy, and movement assessments.
Contact us Orthopedics Associates Office:
Contact us: Physical Therapy Office
Our reproductive health is an important factor in our physical health. While Planned Parenthood is frequently in the news regarding abortion, it performs many more services than just abortion. For example, Planned Parenthood also performs STD testing/treatment, sex education, pregnancy testing, post-partum care, birth control, and vaccines.
Contact
Hours of Operation
The health of our teeth is an incredibly important part of our physical health, as they allow us to consume food and speak. Dentists are specialty doctors who focus on the care of these incredibly important bones. I have attached a link to the Yelp overview of the different dental facilities in San Juan County. The individual pages include contact information as well as their address.
Animas Pediatric Dentistry is a children's dentistry clinic located in the Farmington area. From birth to 18, children's teeth are still growing, with their baby teeth being replaced by adult teeth. Thus, this is an incredibly important period for children's oral health. The organization provides cavity services, fillings, emergency dental work, oral checkups, preventative dentistry, oral dentistry, fluoride, and sealants. The website allows users to set up an appointment online and has a patient portal where patients can access their records online.
Contact us
Office Hours
Many medical conditions require some sort of medicine to be ordered through a pharmacy. These medicines can include long-term support medications such as a insulin for somebody with diabetes or it could be a short term medicine, like an antibiotic for strep throat. These medicines must be ordered by a doctor picked up at a specialty location (though, some can be shipped to your door). I have attached a link to the Yelp overview of the different pharmacies in San Juan County. The individual pages include contact information as well as their address.
The San Juan County Health Care Assistance Program is designed to assist people who do not have access to health insurance in order to ensure more equitable access to healthcare. This program also matches state and federal Medicare funds. In addition, the program also works with various programs to better understand the physical and mental health needs of San Juan County residents.
Contact us:
The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs is an organization that is designed to provide healthcare for military veterans and their families. The VA provides free care for any military service related injuries. They also provide healthcare for veterans that are not service related, but these services are frequently at cost. The Farmington VA Clinic is the local Veterans Affairs physical and mental health clinic. This clinic can be used as the primary care facility for veterans in the Farmington area. It also provides services such as laboratory facilities and mental health work. They can also be used to link users to other services.
Contact us:
Hours:
The American Red Cross is a volunteer organization that provides emergency assistance in the face of disasters and other Crises. These include both natural disasters such as floods or forest fires and manmade disasters such as mass casualty events and war. In addition to disaster relief, the Red Cross also does blood drives, provides first aid training, and provides emergency assistance for veterans. New Mexico is part of the American Red Cross Arizona and New Mexico Region.
Contact us:
Farmington Red Cross Resource Center
New Mexico Chapter Headquarters
Arizona and New Mexico Red Cross Chapter Details
The University of New Mexico Hospital is the only Tier 1 Trauma Center in the State of New Mexico (these hospitals have multiple specialists and can deal with every issue relating to an emergency from treatment to rehabilitation). This 556 bed center is also the primary referral hospital for people who live in San Juan County whose specialty needs are not met by a more local medical center. The hospital has several specialty care divisions, notably UNM Hospital has the state's only specialty children's hospital. The hospital has several locations in the greater Albuquerque area, including its specialty services.
Contact us:
Attached is a map of the different hospitals which include trauma centers (medical centers designed to handle emergencies) throughout the four corner states. This is important in case you are traveling elsewhere and you need to find the nearest hospital. Note that this map also includes information on hospitals in Texas that are located near New Mexico.
The New Mexico Department of health provides a variety of services to the citizens of New Mexico including things like immunization, medical cannabis, support for people with disabilities, and reproductive health. The department also certifies nurses in the state. The New Mexico Department of Health is also involved in health communication, where they identify and create outreach materials related to major issues in the state. The Department has nine major subdivisions.
The Indian Health Service is part of the Health and Human Services Agency that is responsible for the healthcare of the native peoples of the United States. To that end, the Indian Health Service owns and operates hospitals on and off Native American reservations. Care is available to all members of enrolled Native Americans (for free) as well as providing certain services to the spouses and general public (for remitted cost) (see the IHS eligibility for more information).
For more information see the Albuquerque Area IHS Facilities.
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Service is a department of the U.S. federal government, which is designed to oversee the health of the United States citizens. To that end, the department operates many programs, such as Medicare, Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (Welfare), vaccine programs, and ensuring health privacy through the administration of HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act). Additionally, the Department of Health and Human Services is also responsible for public health initiatives to draw awareness to health issues, such as the importance of good nutrition, vaccines, and healthy lifestyles.
Contact us:
The University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability Information Network is a collection of resources for people with disabilities (both physical and mental). This includes community providers, tip sheets, video resources, and a library of physical/e-books. The library is the largest collection of disability related resources in the state of New Mexico. This healthcare center can help connect people with the specific resources that they need to help with their disabilities
Contact us:
Hours:
The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs is an organization that is designed to provide healthcare for military veterans and their families. The VA provides free care for any military service related injuries. They also provide healthcare for veterans that are not service related, but these services are frequently at cost. In the State of New Mexico, the Raymond G. Murphy Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Albuquerque, New Mexico is the central VA hospital for the state. The VA also operates several smaller clinics and Veterans Centers throughout the state.
Contact us, Raymond G. Murphy Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center:
New Mexico Veterans Affairs Healthcare and Non-Healthcare Locations
Arizona Veterans Affairs Healthcare and Non-Healthcare Facilities
Colorado Veterans Affairs Healthcare and Non-Healthcare Locations
Utah Veterans Affairs Healthcare and Non-Healthcare Locations
America's Pediatric Dentists is a professional organization of dentists who work specifically to help with the unique needs of children's teeth. The organization's website includes a list of major pediatric dentists as well as a collection of resources on teeth care for children under 18. It is also useful for people who are interested in becoming dentists, having resources on dentistry programs.
Contact us
Access to health insurance is important in helping pay for our health appointments and ensuring that people do not go into medical debt. To that end the state and federal government offer several low-cost or free health insurance programs for people.
NOTE: There are a lot of people who use the name of Medicare in order to scam people. Do not give your personal information to anybody except for official government sites (for more information, see the "avoiding scams" section of this libguide).
Be Well NM is an initiative by the New Mexico Human Services Department to help connect people to health insurance. Not only does the website provide information on the different health insurance providers in the State of New Mexico, it also provides hotlines to help walk people through the sign up process. Be Well specifically has information about insurance for low-income families and information about different ways to reduce your health insurance bill (tax credits, inflation reduction act, etc). Be Well NM also works with the Affordable Care Act (aka Obamacare), to provide federal health insurance.
Contact us:
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has a Health Care Marketplace which can assist in applying for different federal health insurance programs. Not only does the marketplace link you to different federal programs, but it also helps connect people with more local programs. This is the best way to get federal health insurance. While there are other ways to connect with insurers, this is the safest and easiest.
contact us:
Medicare is a form of free health insurance available for seniors who are 65 and older as well as for younger people who have permanent kidney damage or are on disabilities. Medicare has multiple "parts".
"Original medicare" consists of Part A (which focuses on hospital stays) and Part B (which focuses on doctors visits). Original Medicare also includes a supplemental "Medicare Part D," which allows for supplemental drug coverage. There is also something known as Medigap, which is a state program which helps pay for costs associated with Medicare.
Additionally, there is also a Medicare Advantage Plan, also known as "Type C." This plan combines Medicare Type A, B, and frequently D, but requires you to use certain doctors within a particular area. Additionally, you can only add Medicare Type C during a certain, open enrollment period from January 1-March 31. There are several third parties who will help you sign up for Type C, but be warned, several are attempting to steal your data, or use it for advertising purposes.
Contact us:
Our Bodies, Ourselves: A New Edition for a New Era
by
The Encyclopedia of Men's Health
by
Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span
by
How Children Learn to Be Healthy
by
Health
by
Stretching Your Health Care Dollar
by
Why Are Health Disparities Everyone's Problem?
by
