|
The greatness of a community is most accurately measured by the compassionate actions of its members.
- Coretta Scott King
For students, there many be many resources that we might need or make our lives more fulfilling that are not easily categorized. Parks let us connect with nature and lead more fulfilling lives. Community organizations like the Herencia Latina Center or the Native American Center help people connect with their communities. These resources are other important resources that people might need, but don't fit in any of the other categories.
For Native American students, their time at San Juan College may be one of the first times they are away from their communities. This loneliness combined with the stress of college can frequently cause health issues. The San Juan College Native American Center is designed to provide community building and financial support (by connecting students to scholarships and other forms of financial aid) to the Native American students on San Juan College campus. The ability to feel like you are a part of a community and financial stability are both incredibly important parts of whole health.
Note: These resources are only available for San Juan College students and staff.
Contact
The San Juan College Herencia Latina Center is designed to provide community building and financial support (by connecting students to scholarships and other forms of financial aid) to the Hispanic students on San Juan College campus. The ability to feel like you are a part of a community and financial stability are both incredibly important parts of whole health.
Note: These resources are only available for San Juan College students and staff.
Contact Us
Exercise is an important part of keeping our bodies healthy. To that end, the San Juan College has its Health and Human Performance Center which serves as the college's gymnasium. It is open year round, and is open to both the public and to students of the college. The Health and Human Performance also hosts classes and events such as Zoomba or Pickleball tournaments. The HHPC also allows members to check out materials needed for outdoor sports such as hiking or camping.
Note: Health and Human Performance Center membership is complimentary for San Juan College Students, staff, and their families. Non-San Juan College Students can purchase memberships.
Contact us:
Hours:
The San Juan County Partnership is a non-profit community action agency that provides a large number of different health related programs, including community gardens, youth programs, addiction prevention (especially for youth), and housing assistance (homelessness prevention, rapid rehousing funds, etc). The San Juan County Partnership also provides a forum for concerned community members to discuss their concerns and collect data regarding major social determinants of health.
Note: These housing resources are only available for San Juan County residents.
Contact:
Capacity Builders is an organization administers a number of programs in San Juan County. Many of the program administered focus around drug/alcohol prevention and addiction counseling. The organization provides assistance to all different groups of people including youth, LGBT, native peoples and veterans.
Contact us:
The Farmington Indian Center provides a large number of services to the Native American population of Farmington and the greater San Juan County area. From tuesday to thursday, the Indian Center provides inexpensive, Navajo, breakfast and lunch to native and non-native peoples of Farmington. The Indian Center also provides a place for cultural events and for community building. It also provides safe and clean hygienic facilities.
Note: These resources are available for all members of the community, not just Indigenous peoples.
Contact us:
Hours:
Exercise, sunshine (Vitamin D), and community building are all important parts of health. The City of Farmington's Parks, Recreation, & Cultural Affairs Department helps provide these to the residents of Farmington and San Juan County. Parks provide vital spaces for exercise for adults and children. The Farmington Civic Center gives residents a place for cultural and community events. The Farmington Museum connects people to their past and heritage.
Contact:
Contact us:
Hours:
Contact us:
Hours:
Art and cultural events play an important role in our mental and physical wellbeing. The Northwest New Mexico Arts Council helps put on events related the arts and culture in San Juan County and beyond. The organization serves as a supporter and advocate for the visual, literary and performing arts in Northwest New Mexico. The website provides information about the various arts events that are happening in the Farmington area.
Contact us
The 211 Hotline is a hotline operated by United Way and The Hartford which can be used to connect people to different services in the community. The services provided by the 211 hotline includes food services, emergency rent/bill support, and disaster recovery. The 211 website also includes links to various programs that are hosted by the United Way.
Contact us (United Way Farmington Branch):
The food that we eat and physical activities that we do play an incredibly important role in our physical and mental wellbeing. To that end, the U.S. Center for Disease Control (CDC) has created a series of initiatives in order to assist Americans in living longer and healthier lives. This is done through studies to understand Americans diets/activity (or inactivity) levels, educating people about the importance about healthy living, and creating programs to incentivize people to exercise/eat healthier.
The National Parks Service was founded in 1916 in order to preserve spots of natural beauty or historic significance. The state of New Mexico has 15 National Parks, with the closest ones to Farmington being Aztec Ruins, Chaco Culture, Mesa Verde National Park, and Hovenweep National Park. The website includes information about all of the parks, including their locations, hours of operation, and any rules/regulations that are required at the parks. The links to each of the individual parks also provides information about the history and biology of the parks.
Contact us:
Much of the recreation land in the state of New Mexico is owned and operated by the New Mexico State Land Office. This website provides information about the 13 state parks operated by the New Mexico State Land Office, including their locations, hours of operation, and other information about the parks. It also includes information about any rules and regulations for these parks.
New Mexico State Land Office San Juan County Branch:
New Mexico State Land Office Central Branch:
New Mexico Family Outdoor Adventure: An All-Ages Guide to Hiking, Camping, and Getting Outside
by
Growing, Growing Strong!: A Whole Health Curriculum for Young Children
by
Physical Activity and Health: A Report of the Surgeon General.
by
Legacy: Trauma, Story and Indigenous Healing
by
Salud: A Latina's Guide to Total Health
by
Changing Planet, Changing Health: How the Climate Crisis Threatens our Health and What We Can Do About It
by
Forest Bathing: How Trees Can Help You Find Health and Happiness
by
.gif)
