Research Guides: Native American Languages: Keres/Keresan

Overview of Keres/Keresan

The Keres or Keresan Languages are the primary indigenous languages of the Keres Pueblo people. This language is broken up into two parts, the Eastern Keres (also known as Rio Grande Keresan) which includes Cochiti Pueblo, Kewa Pueblo, San Felipe Pueblo, Santa Ana Pueblo, and Zia Pueblo and the Western Keres (also known as Acoma-Laguna), which Acoma Pueblo and Laguna Pueblo. Both branches of the language are mutually intelligible, though, there are significant differences between the eastern and western branches. The language is considered a language isolate, meaning that it is unrelated to any other languages. According to the Endangered Languages Project, Rio Grande Keresan has roughly 6,125 speakers, classifying it as "endangered." Acoma-Laguna, meanwhile, has roughly 4,000 speakers and is classified as "threatened."

Keres/Keresan Language Restoration

Acoma Language Program - Acoma Pueblo
An overview of the Acoma Language Program (Part of the Acoma Department of Education) at the Acoma Pueblo. The program is working on a Keres dictionary, establishes Keres classes in schools/childcare facilities, and makes Keres language resources available for teachers/students.
Education - Pueblo of San Felipe
An overview of the Education Department at the Pueblo of San Felipe. The department hosts classes in Keres for both students and adults. The website includes a google form for potentially interested citizens to request more information on Keres classes.
Education - Santa Ana Pueblo
An overview of the education department at the Santa Ana Pueblo. The department states one of its goals is language revitalization and has language/culture programs.
In Retrospect, Revitalizing the Cochiti Language — A Proposal for Community Re-engagement in Collective Spirit and Mutual Respect - Journal of American Indian Education
This article, published by the Journal of American Indian Education, focuses on the various actions taken by the Cochiti Pueblo in order to revitalize their language. The Cochiti Pueblo was one of the first indigenous nations to engage in language revitalization and are often used as a model for indigenous revitalization. This provides an overview of their early efforts and the lessons that were learned from those efforts.
Keres Children's Learning Center - Cochiti Pueblo
The Keres Children's Learning Center is a K-12 Montessori school, operated by the Cochiti Pueblo. The school has a strong focus on maintaining and revitalizing the Keres language, focusing on hands-on (outdoor) instruction, language immersion, dual-language instruction, and intergenerational approaches.
Kewa Keres Language - Santo Domingo Pueblo
While Santo Domingo Pueblo has a Kewa Language department, there is little information on the programs offered by the Pueblo. The website just has contact information for the program.
Pueblo de Cochiti Restoration Project - University of New Mexico
This website provides an overview of the Pueblo de Cochiti Restoration Project, historic and cultural preservation project from 2014. The project was a collaboration between University of New Mexico, Pueblo de Cochiti, and the Housing and Urban Development. Not only was the project designed to improve infrastructure on the reservation, but also to create curriculum for the restoration of the Keres langauge
Zia Keres Language - Zia Pueblo
While Zia Pueblo has a Kewa Language department, there is little information on the programs offered by the Pueblo. The website just has contact information for the program.

Keres/Keresan Language Resources

A Study for a Lexicon of Laguna Keresan - Hilaire Paul Valiquette, University of New Mexico
A dissertation by Hilaire Paul Valiquette of University of New Mexico focusing on the grammar, syntax, and phonology of the Laguna dialect of the Keres language. The article also proves an extensive overview of previous research done on the topic, with a long bibliography.

Note, this work is over 700 pages long and may be a bit difficult for some computers to download.

Good Rainbow Road: Rawa ʻkashtyaaʼtsi hiyaani: A Native American Tale in Keres and English, Followed by a Translation Into Spanish by Simon J. Ortiz; Michael Lacapa; Victor Montejo (Translator)
Call Number: PZ10.5.O67 Go 2004 (West)

ISBN: 9780816523405

Publication Date: 2004-05-01

Good Rainbow Road is children's book containing a traditional Native American story. The book includes the story in English, Keres, and Spanish (at the end of the book).

Keres Language - Wikipedia
An overview of the Keres Language as described on Wikipedia. The article includes information on the classification of the language, its phonology (including consonants, vowels, tones, and syllable structure), orthography (description of the reason for a lack of written texts, consonant symbols, vowel symbols, and sample texts), morphosyntax, and Lexicon (including numbers and loanwords from Spanish).
Wordlist Acoma Keres - Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology
An overview of 36 words in the Acoma dialect of the Keres language by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology's ASJP database. The database includes words for pronouns, body parts, animals, and geographic/astrological terms.
Wordlist Santa Ana Keres - Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology
An overview of 37 words in the Santa Ana dialect of the Keres language by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology's ASJP database. The database includes words for pronouns, animals, body parts, and geographic/astrological terms.
Wordlist Santo Domingo Keres - Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology
An overview of 35 words in the Santo Domingo dialect of the Keres language by the Max Planick Institute of Evolutionary Anthropology's ASJP database. The database includes words for pronouns, animals, body parts, and geographic/astrological terms.