Research Guides: Native American Languages: Jicarilla Apache/Abáachi mizaa

Overview of Jicarilla Apache

The language of Jicarilla Apache or Abáachi mizaa is the primary indigenous language of the Jicarilla Apache Nation. The language is a Southern Athabaskan language (eastern group). According to the Endangered Languages Project, there are roughly 300 speakers of the language, classifying the language as "endangered."

Jicarilla Apache Language Restoration

Saving a Language, Preserving a Culture - University of New Mexico News
An overview of recent initiatives taken by University of New Mexico Alumni to preserve and restore the Jicarilla Apache language. Much of this is done through translating the work of early anthropologists back into the original, native, language, in order to create culturally relevant language training materials.
“You Can’t Teach Kids from a Book”: Seasonal Camps at the Jicarilla Apache Nation - University of New Mexico
An overview of the Seasonal Language camp hosted by the Jicarilla Apache Nation. These camps allowed students to immerse themselves into the Jicarilla Apache language and culture through language classes and culturally relevant activities. These programs began in the early 2000s, but appear to have been short lived.

Jicarilla Apache Language Resources

Apache Language - Chiricahua Apache Mimbreno Nde Nation
An overview of the Apache language (with a focus on Western Apache) published by the Chiricahua Apache Mimbreno Nde Nation. The website includes comparisons between Jicarilla Apache, Mescalero Apache, and Western Apache words. It is useful in understanding the differences between the different Apache languages.

Dictionary of Jicarilla Apache by Wilhelmina Phone; Maureen Olson; Matilda Martinez
Call Number: PM1389.Z5 D53 2006 (Southwest Room Reference)

ISBN: 9780826340788

Publication Date: 2007-06-01

A dictionary of the Jicarilla Apache language that was created to support language learning in schools. Included in the dictionary are over five thousand entries organized both alphabetically and by semantic field. The Dictionary also includes a grammatical sketch of the language and a guide to using the dictionary, in addition to the Jicarilla Apache to English dictionary, an English to Jicarilla index, and a lexicon organized according to semantic domains such as plants, animals, household items, etc., and for nouns and for verbs and semantic and grammatical groupings such as descriptions, activities, and motion verbs.

Jicarilla Apache App - Apple App Store
The Jicarilla Apache app is a free app designed by the Jicarilla Cultural Affairs Office and Thornton Media to assist in learning the Jicarilla Apache language. The app includes 500 + phrases and words recorded by fluent Native speakers as well as quizzes, games, a searchable database, and cultural notes such as songs.

The app is also available to download for android

https://apkcombo.app/jicarilla-apache/com.languagepal.jicarillaandroid/
Jicarilla Language - Wikipedia
A brief overview of the Jicarilla Language as described on Wikipedia. The article includes the history of the language, a brief overview of revitalization efforts, phonology (consonants, vowels, tone), syllables, morphophonology, a short sample text, and an overview of loan words from Spanish.
Wordlist, Jicarilla Apache - Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology
An overview of 39 words in the Jicarilla Apache language by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology's ASJP database. The database includes words for pronouns, animals, and geographic/astrological terms.