Native American Languages

Esther Martinez (known by her traditional name of P’oe Tsáwä) was a member of the Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan) Pueblo. She was well known for her work in preserving the Tewa language. She worked as a storyteller, author, and educator, creating resources such as children's books and curriculum guides for bilingual education. She worked with various groups in New Mexico to create and foster bilingual education.

An overview of the Kha'p'o Community School, a K-6 school operated by the Santa Clara Pueblo. The school focuses on bilingual education, to create students who are literate in Tewa and English. Within the "Kewa" subtab, it includes contact information for the Tewa program and videos of Tewa speakers from the school.

At the Nambe Pueblo, the Language revitalization program is part of the tribal government's Health, Wellness, and Education Program. It includes contact information for the program and some brief information regarding the types of programs (such as cultural activities).

The San Ildefonso Pueblo is currently in the process of establishing a Tewa Language department. Currently their website is blank.

An overview of the Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo's Tewa Language revitalization Program. The Ohkay Owingeh Tewa Language Program offers weekly classes three times a week for 2-3 hours a session to address the need to increase the Tewa Language being spoken throughout the community. The Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo education department also works to integrate language restoration in their schools.

An overview of the various attempts from Tewa (and other) pueblos to restore their language. These include Ohkay Owingeh Tewa classes in their schools, the Indigenous Knowledge Collective, and the Leaders of Kha’p’o Community School of Santa Clara Pueblo.

A reprint of Pehtsiye?ây or Three stories in Tewa from the Universtity of New Mexico Digital Libraries Native American Children's Books collection. The book includes three traditional children's tales (Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood, Three Little Pigs) translated into two different dialects of Tewa (San Juan and Santa Clara).

An overview of the Tewa Language on Wikipedia. The article includes information on the various dialects of Tewa, the number of speakers, the phonology of the language (including consonants, vowels, syllable structure, tone, stress), morphology, syntax, and attempts at language revitalization.

A story that was told in entirely in the Tewa language. The story was created by Santa Fe Indian School Seniors as part of their Seniors Honors Project. The story tells the importance of language preservation. This story is hosted by the Indigenous Language Institute on YouTube.

An overview of 50 words in the San Juan dialect of the Tewa language by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology's ASJP database. The database includes words for pronouns, body parts, and geographic/astrological terms.

An overview of 41 words in the Santa Clara dialect of the Tewa language by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology's ASJP database. The database includes words for pronouns, body parts, and geographic/astrological terms.