Brainfuse is a program provided by the New Mexico State Library that allows users to search for more information about particular jobs, as well as providing general career resources, resume and interview help.
Career One Stop is a program provided by the U.S. Department of Labor to provide information about different careers, job training, and various programs offered by the government to help connect people with jobs. It also provides specific supports for different groups such as veterans, entry level workers, and Spanish speakers.
LinkedIn is a business and employment oriented social media site that operates via websites and mobile apps. Linkedin allows you to create a digital resumes, to connect with employers, and to connect with other people in the same field.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a product of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (part of the U.S. Department of Labor) that can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations. Information is broken down into various categories. For biology, the category would be "Life, Physical, and Social Sciences."
The New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions is a state initiative that provides information to people in the workforce and employers. It provides a legal resource for the laws in the state as well as connecting employers with employees.
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment is a state initiative that provides information to people in the workforce and employers. It provides a legal resource for the laws in the state as well as connecting employers with employees.
Career Coach is a tool created by Lightcast and hosted by San Juan College that helps connect students to careers and career resources. The primary tool of Career Coach is a test that helps connect a student's interest to careers. It also assists students in creating resumes and provides a database of career options.
Note: A San Juan College Account is required to access these materials.
An overview of careers at the Bureau of Indian Affairs. The website includes several links, going into depth about careers for recent graduates and students. In addition to this information, the website also includes information on how to use the federal government's jobsite (USJobs), Indian preference for Indian related jobs, and the benefits/perks of a federal career.
A job board, hosted by the Tribal College Journal (as published by the American Indian Higher Education Consortium) focused on American Indian jobs. This job board focuses on jobs from various disciplines with a focus on indigenousness and jobs from tribal colleges/universities. These jobs are not necissarily from American Indian Studies, but may be from similar disciplines. For the most part, this job board focuses on academic positions.
A job board hosted by the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association, which focuses on jobs from various disciplines which have a focus on Indigenousness and promote Indigenous viewpoints. They are not necessarily from American Indian Studies, but may include similar disciplines such as history and ethnic studies. For the most part, this job board focuses on academic positions.
One of the benefits of American Indian Studies is its ability to slot in with other career pathways. This allows people to learn a particular skill, trade, or program, and return to their tribes to work in the tribal civil service. This article, by University of California: Davis, describes the career pathways of various graduates from the American Indian Studies program, who took what they learned from the program and how they integrated their degree with their work in various fields.
An overview of potential career options at Northeastern State University. The site includes a brief overview of what American Indian Studies is, the types of careers that are available for people in American Indian Studies, and the types of skills taught in an American Indian Studies programs.
The National Congress of American Indians has a job board for jobs in tribal communities who are members of the National Congress of American Indians. Employers are welcome to submit postings if they fit one of the following criteria: the position requires a significant amount of interaction with tribal communities, the position requires specific skills (e.g. fluency in a native language, knowledge of federal Indian law) and the business or organization is a member of NCAI in good standing.
