|
The Nexis Uni database contains extensive legal information such as legal briefs, cases, statutes, and law journal articles. The rest of the databases listed may provide additional legal information.
The General Legal Reference Materials boxes below provide general information on various areas of law and terminology for the researcher.
The Legal Information Websites box provides additional NM state legal information for the consumer.
ALWD Guide to Legal Citation
by
ALWD Guide to Legal Citation, Sixth Edition provides the tools needed for all forms of legal writing, using clear explanations and abundant illustrations. In a single set of rules that the novice and experienced legal writers can easily consult, Professor Barger contrasts the formats used in practice-based documents with those used in academic footnotes. New to the Sixth Edition: Updated and expanded coverage of public domain case opinions and other primary authorities published online. Updated and expanded coverage of secondary works in online media, including articles, ebooks, blogs, newsletters, and social media. New and updated subsections of rules addressing federal case reporters, statutes, legislation, and regulations onli≠ new treatment of footnote references and footnotes/endnotes in online sources; new treatment and examples of dictionaries, A.L.R. annotations and articles, Restatements, and Principles of the Law. Updated appendices containing abbreviations, jurisdiction-specific sources and local rules, periodicals (more than 70 new titles added); new appendix addressing abbreviations for titles of BD Loose-leaf services. Every rule and example has been revisited and edited for depth and breadth of coverage as well as improved clarity. Shorter than the Fifth Edition (but with the same amount of information).
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition
by
With a reputation for quality and authority that is without peer, Black's Law Dictionary is a must-have reference for attorneys, paralegals, judges, and law students. This ninth edition offers more than 45,000 expertly crafted legal definitions containing an additional 2,000 new terms, nearly 3,000 quotations from legal authorities, and selected terms with their date of origin in American and/or British opinions.
Burton's Legal Thesaurus
by
After twenty-five years as the standard-bearer of legal terminology, Burton's Legal Thesaurus continues to be an essential reference tool. In law, precision and accuracy is vital. This fourth edition contains more entries than ever before, including cutting-edge terms unique to today's legal profession. This new edition is an indispensable reference source for: * Partners, Associates, Attorneys and judges, who will appreciate the timeliness of the 1,000-plus new entries * Law school students seeking to use a more specific word or recall a word forgotten * Journalists and scholars looking for the right word to fit the thought