Brainfuse is a program provided by the New Mexico State Library that allows users to search for more information about particular jobs, as well as providing general career resources, resume and interview help.
Career One Stop is a program provided by the U.S. Department of Labor to provide information about different careers, job training, and various programs offered by the government to help connect people with jobs. It also provides specific supports for different groups such as veterans, entry level workers, and Spanish speakers.
LinkedIn is a business and employment oriented social media site that operates via websites and mobile apps. Linkedin allows you to create a digital resumes, to connect with employers, and to connect with other people in the same field.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a product of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (part of the U.S. Department of Labor) that can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations. Information is broken down into various categories. For biology, the category would be "Life, Physical, and Social Sciences."
The New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions is a state initiative that provides information to people in the workforce and employers. It provides a legal resource for the laws in the state as well as connecting employers with employees.
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment is a state initiative that provides information to people in the workforce and employers. It provides a legal resource for the laws in the state as well as connecting employers with employees.
Career Coach is a tool created by Lightcast and hosted by San Juan College that helps connect students to careers and career resources. The primary tool of Career Coach is a test that helps connect a student's interest to careers. It also assists students in creating resumes and provides a database of career options.
Note: A San Juan College Account is required to access these materials.
"Our mission is to help students (or other aspiring professionals) understand what it takes to land their perfect career, from picking the right school all the way to climbing the company ladder. We are passionate about creating a one-stop, comprehensive resource that can guide individuals through each of the steps they need to take to begin, further, or change their career path."
"Pursuing a career in biology can be immensely rewarding and exciting. Studying biology teaches us to ask questions, make observations, evaluate evidence, and solve problems. Biologists learn how living things work, how they interact with one another, and how they evolve".
"Wondering what to do with a biology degree? Jobs in this area of science are appealing to all kinds of people...biology's professional outcomes can sometimes be trickier to figure out, mostly because the possibilities are so wide-ranging."
This work, provided by the University of New Hampshire, includes information about different careers available in the biological sciences that don't involve going to medical school. It is unique in that it breaks down careers based on different sub-fields of biology such as health and ecology.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a product of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (part of the U.S. Department of Labor) that can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations. Information is broken down into various categories. For biology, the category would be "Life, Physical, and Social Sciences."
