|
The San Juan College Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system to organize the materials in the collection and the nursing materials are located in the LC class section, RT .
The information on this page lists nursing books, ebooks, and additional materials in the library,
If you need additional assistance, please ask the SJC Librarians at 505-566-3256.
Adult-Gerontology Practice Guidelines
by
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care
by
Newly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice. As representatives of specific cultural, racial, ethnic, and sociopolitical groups, nurses bring their own values, beliefs, and attitudes to all interactions with patients and with one another. Whether or not nurses choose to make their attitudes explicit, these attitudes ultimately influence the quality of care they provide to patients. The content of this book is grounded in the Staircase Model, which builds upon the nurse's own self-assessment to identify personal limitations, find strategies to improve cultural competence, and progress to the next level. This text features case scenarios that apply the process of cultural competence to different healthcare situations. What's NewThree New ChaptersChapter 12: Caring for Patients Who Are Morbidly ObeseChapter 13: Caring for VeteransChapter 14: Caring for ChildrenExpanded content on caring for LGBTQIA communityPowerPoint slides provided for instructors Key FeaturesAddresses AACN competenciesProvides easy-to-follow self-assessment using the Staircase ModelLearning Objectives and Key Terms are identified in each chapterOverview of each chapter provides current information about trends in the United States on the topic under discussionProvides an excellent cultural competency preparation for student nurses in clinical situations as well as for practicing nurses at all levels and areas of nursingPresents content on immigration and transgender individuals
The Language of Kindness
by
A moving, lyrical, beautifully-written portrait of a nurse and the lives she has touched Christie Watson spent twenty years as a nurse, and in this intimate, poignant, and remarkably powerful book, she opens the doors of the hospital and shares its secrets. She takes us by her side down hospital corridors to visit the wards and meet her unforgettable patients. In the neonatal unit, premature babies fight for their lives, hovering at the very edge of survival, like tiny Emmanuel, wrapped up in a sandwich bag. On the cancer wards, the nurses administer chemotherapy and, long after the medicine stops working, something more important--which Watson learns to recognize when her own father is dying of cancer. In the pediatric intensive care unit, the nurses wash the hair of a little girl to remove the smell of smoke from the house fire. The emergency room is overcrowded as ever, with waves of alcohol and drug addicted patients as well as patients like Betty, a widow suffering chest pain, frail and alone. And the stories of the geriatric ward--Gladys and older patients like her--show the plight of the most vulnerable members of our society. Through the smallest of actions, nurses provide vital care and kindness. All of us will experience illness in our lifetime, and we will all depend on the support and dignity that nurses offer us; yet the women and men who form the vanguard of our health care remain unsung. In this age of fear, hate, and division, Christie Watson has written a book that reminds us of all that we share, and of the urgency of compassion.
Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference
by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for more than 35 years! Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including 35 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for 35 new FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Updates on drug therapies provide the most current information.
Nursing2023 Drug Handbook
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Prevent medication errors and provide optimal patient care with the latest expert advice from the new edition of the best-selling nursing drug guide.  Nursing2023 Drug Handbook® delivers evidence-based, nursing-focused drug monographs for nearly 3700 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs. With a tabbed, alphabetical organization and a "New Drugs" section, NDH2023 makes it easy to check drug facts on the spot. All new: 27 monographs of newly-FDA-approved drugs are listed together for easy review. Thoroughly revised with the latest information: 3,691 drug monographs provide dosages, indications, boxed warnings, genetic-related information, adverse reactions, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information. The Guide to Reading Drug Monographs explains and illustrates each section of a monograph. Pill guide insert: Full-color photos distinguish 439 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules Continually updated: Monthly updates on Lippincott® NursingCenter® deliver the latest FDA information. Nearly 30 appendices cover topics such as serotonin syndrome, pregnancy risk categories, and understanding biosimilar drugs. Four introductory chapters examine drug actions, interactions, and reactions; drug therapy across the lifespan; safe drug administration; and therapeutic drug classifications.
NCLEX-RN Review Made Incredibly Easy
by
Rural Nursing, Sixth Edition
by
Nursing Scope of Practice
by
Nursing Scope of Practice is every nurse's guidebook to understanding this terrain. It strips away the confusion and provides a comprehensive, coherent explanation of the nursing scope of practice so nurses can work to the full extent of their abilities and licensing. Nurses will learn what they need to do to keep their patients safe, stay within the legal limits of a nursing license, as well as their employer's policies. Just as important, nurses will also learn how to expand their practice by taking on new roles and expand the scope of practice in a safe and responsible manner. Nursing leaders, government regulators, and scholars will learn how the nursing scope of practice defines the profession, and how the scope of practice can be used to promote nursing professionalism.
American Indian Health and Nursing
by
General practice nursing: foundational principles
by
Pharmacology Case Studies for Nurse Prescribers
by
Writing for nursing and midwifery students
by
