|
“I have a disability yes that’s true, but all that really means is I may have to take a slightly different path than you.”
— Robert M. Hensel
According to the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, disability is defined as a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activity. People with disabilities may need additional supports for performing certain academic or life tasks. As a result, there are many organizations who are designed to support this community. Included are a mix of academic, physical, social, and legal supports.
For students who deal with accessibility issues such as vision issues, hearing issues, or other mental health issues, college can be a daunting task. Some policies that are designed to work for everybody simply don't work for many of these students. The college is required to provide accommodations for these students, but only if they ask for them. The accessibility services office is designed to help connect students with the accommodations that they require. Accommodations can be requested in person and through a students mysjc portal.
Contact us:
The San Juan Center for Independence is an organization that provides various supports for disabled people in San Juan County who wish to live independently or semi-independently. This center provides adult day health services and also provides classes to assist people for transitioning into independent living. This also includes information regarding transitions from youth to adulthood and from independent living to nursing care.
Contact us, Farmington Office:
Contact us, Gallup Office:
Project Shield is an initiative by the Presbyterian Medical Services which was designed to provide better supports for developmentally disabled adults in San Juan County. These include community supports such as social activities and trainings for independent living as well as employment supports such as transportation, assistance in job applications, and assisting people in advocating for supports.
Contact us:
The Arc of San Juan County is a thrift store in Farmington designed to raise money for disabled people and to provide employment for disabled people in the Farmington Area. In addition to raising money, The Arc also donates clothing to disabled people in need, provides training for disabled people to help them find jobs, and run an art academy for disabled people.
Contact us:
Disabled people can face a myriad of legal issues related to accommodations and tribal law. The Native American Disability Law Center was established to provide legal support for Native Americans who are struggling with issues related to their disabilities or treatment. The organization also provides information to Native Americans about their rights.
Contact us Farmington Branch:
Contact us: Flagstaff Branch:
As part of the Americans with Disabilities Act, governments are required to provide all governmental information in an accessible manner. The San Juan County Government's ADA Coordinator, Steward Logan, can provide county information in a more accessible manner.
Contact us:
The New Mexico Division of Vocational Rehabilitation is a part of the State of New Mexico. The organization is designed to connect people with disabilities with appropriate jobs and support services to help them thrive in the state. The organization also collaborates with employers to promote diversity in the workforce, advocating for the inclusion of those with disabilities in the workforce.
Contact us:
The University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability Information Network is a collection of resources for people with disabilities (both physical and mental). This includes community providers, tip sheets, video resources, and a library of physical/e-books. The library is the largest collection of disability related resources in the state of New Mexico. This healthcare center can help connect people with the specific resources that they need to help with their disabilities
Contact us:
Hours:
A major issue facing people with disabilities is abuse, as people with disabilities are significantly more likely to be abused than people without disabilities. The New Mexico Developmental Disabilities Supports Division is a branch of the New Mexico State Government who's role is to provide various supports for people with developmental disabilities in the state of New Mexico. These include providing assistive technologies, providing residential/adult day health services, and running programs for individuals with specific disabilities.
Contact us:
DDSD Farmington Office
DDSD Gallup Office
The New Mexico Governor's Commission on Disability is a branch of the State of New Mexico designed to advocate for and to provide professional advise regarding disabilities in the New Mexico Governor's Office and the New Mexico State Legislature. In addition to advocacy, the organization also provides awareness, assists in operating accessibility programs/technical assistance, accessible transportation, and advising the legislature on Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBIs).
Contact us:
Disability Rights New Mexico is a non-profit organization that is designed to support and expand the rights of persons with disabilities through legal and lobbying actions. Disability Rights New Mexico provides legal supports for people with disabilities. Additionally, they provide outreach for informing the general public about disability rights issues in the state.
Contact us:
One major issue facing people with disabilities is their ability to find jobs due to a lack of accessibility or discrimination. The Office of Disability Employment Policy (as part of the U.S. Department Labor) is responsible for enforcing the 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act, creating programs that ensure that organizations provide reasonable accommodations and to assist people with disabilities in finding jobs.
Contact us:
Founded in 1935, Social Security was a program designed by the United States in order to provide for the elderly and disabled people. Social Security is designed to provide for people who are unable to provide for themselves. There are fairly strict guidelines for who is and is not eligible for Social Security for disabilities.
Contact us:
Social Security: Farmington Office
The ADA National Network is an organization founded in the wake of the 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act. It works to provide resources to initiatives that provide for disabled people, collaborate with local governments (and postsecondary institutions) on issues relating to disabled people, and connect disabled people to the resources that they need. The ADA national network is broken up into 10 different regions.
New Mexico is part of Region 6, which includes Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.
Contact us: Region 6 (New Mexico)
Colorado and Utah are part of Region 8 (Rocky Mountains ADA Center), which includes Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming.
Contact us: Region 8 (Colorado, Utah)
Arizona is part of Region 9 (Pacific ADA Center), which includes Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Basin
Contact us: Region 9 (Arizona)
The National Center for College Students with Disabilities is a joint project of the University of Minnesota and the U.S. Department of Education to provide assistance for students and staff in providing reasonable accommodations, do research on disabilities on college campuses and advocate for a greater awareness of disabilities on campus.
Contact us:
Seven Steps to College Success
by
College for Students with Disabilities: We Do Belong
by
Their Time Has Come: Youth with Disabilities Entering Adulthood
by
Job Hunting Tips for the So-Called Handicapped or People Who Have Disabilities:
by
Learning Disabilities: From Identification to Intervention
by
Why Are So Many Minority Students in Special Education?: Understanding Race & Disability in Schools
by
