|
"Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself."
– John Dewey
While college is important, it can also be incredibly difficult for some people at times. Whether it be a struggling with a difficult class, or difficulties in paying for tuition, there are many supports available for students from both San Juan College and other organizations. This libguide includes all resources specifically focused on a person's education, including financial aid, tutoring, and other college support services. .
Financial stability is an incredibly important element of health, as financial instability can cause high amounts of stress and can limit a person's ability to purchase healthy food. For students at San Juan College, they can use the financial aid office to see what sorts of financial aid they are eligible for (this includes undocumented students). The proper use of financial aid can hopefully ease the financial burdens of students.
Note: These resources are only available for San Juan College students and staff
Contact us:
This website, published by the San Juan College Financial Aid department, describes the various types of financial aid offered by the college, state, federal government, and other entities (including scholarships for minority groups or people in particular programs). It includes lists of the scholarships, links to the organizations, and application requirements, if applicable. This is a useful place for students to go if they don't know where to start applying for scholarships, grants, or other forms of financial aid.
Contact us:
The San Juan College Foundation Scholarship is a scholarship offered by the San Juan College Foundation, a fundraising organization of the college. This includes the Trustees Scholarship and the Presidential Scholarship. Both scholarships require a 3.5 GPA, transcripts, letters of recommendation, and an essay. Certain other scholarships were created as part of a collaboration between the Foundation and other organizations. A full scholarship list can be seen below.
Contact us:
TRIO is a federally funded program designed to provide supports for first generation and low income college students. San Juan College has 4 TRIO programs:
Contact us:
M-F 8 a.m.- 5 p.m.
For students in college, having a clear understanding of what you need to do and the path that you have ahead of you is an important part of your wellbeing in college. The San Juan College Academic Advising Department is designed to help students if they need any assistance overcoming obstacles that would impact their academic success. Academic advising can keep you on track in reaching your academic goals as well as refer you to other resources that you may need.
Note: These resources are only available for San Juan College students and staff
Contact us:
While we might think that going to tutoring is a sign of failure, it is actually an important step that many people take as a step to success. Understanding your weak points, can help build you up further. The Tutoring Center offers tutoring in most subject areas taught at San Juan College. Our peer and professional tutors are available to help SJC, GED, and University Program students. For more specific information on various programs and specific supports see the various links which provide information about tutoring. Booking a tutor for a specific time is done through the app Accudemia.
Contact us:
For students, clubs can serve as an incredibly important form of social interaction, networking, and professional development. San Juan College has over 20 groups, including social groups, religious based organizations, and academic/professional organizations. Students can also found their own clubs, if the existing club list does not meet their needs. Clubs at San Juan College are administered through the Office of Student Engagement and Campus Life.
Contact Us (Office of Student Engagement and Campus Life)
Many San Juan College students may wish to continue their education at a different post-secondary institution. To support these students, San Juan College established the Transfer Center, to facilitate the transfer of students to other institutions. The center has transfer counselors whose job it is to assist students with the transfer process. The center also organizes visits from other institutions so that students can learn more about those institutions. The college has agreements with Western New Mexico University and Fort Lewis College to make transferring easier.
Contact us (Transfer Center)
The Wally D Sports Scholarship Foundation is a non-profit organization that provides scholarships to outstanding student athletes in San Juan County, NM. Our mission is to support and encourage high school athletes through scholarships, recognition, and community support to help them pursue their academic and athletic goals.
Contact us:
The Aztec Municipal School Foundation is an independent association that works with the Aztec School District to support the mission of the Aztec Schools and, most importantly for this libguide, it also provides scholarships for exceptional students at the Aztec School District. For more information about the scholarships provided and their eligibility requirements, contact the organization directly.
Contact us:
1118 W. Aztec Blvd., Aztec NM 87410
The Aztec Takedown Scholarship Foundation is an organization that provides scholarships for members of the Aztec High School Wrestling Team. The scholarship builds upon the Chuckie Hesser Memorial Scholarship and assists graduating as well as former Aztec Wrestlers cover the cost of attending an accredited post-secondary educational institution.
Contact us:
The Native Professional Development Center, previously known as the Native American Youth Council, is an organization designed to empower Native peoples to attain greater levels of education and to assist native peoples in job placement. The organization provides scholarships, job training, classroom transitions, and other supportive services to indigenous people in New Mexico. The organization also assists native people in signing up to vote and promoting sovereignty.
The NPDC has three offices, one in Farmington, one in Albuquerque, and one in Gallup.
Farmington Branch Office
Albuquerque Office (Main office)
Gallup Branch
The Waste Management Four Corners Scholarship Program is a scholarship program designed to assist students who plan on attending an accredited 2 year or vocational college in the field of Diesel or Heavy Equipment Mechanics in Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, or Texas. The scholarship is awards $2,500 and is open to high school seniors, graduates, or current college undergraduates. The deadline for this scholarship is January 29, 2026.
Contact us:
The state of New Mexico provides a number of different scholarships, grants, and other programs for students within the state. This includes opportunity scholarships for returning students, the New Mexico Lottery Scholarship (which focuses on academic excellence), sports scholarships, scholarship for particular groups (like police officers and firefighters), teacher prep scholarships, work study, and other scholarships/programs. The requirements for each program is different, so, please look into the requirements before applying.
Contact us:
The Jack Beaty Educational Scholarship Foundation is a non-profit founded in honor of New Mexico politician and businessman Jack Beaty. The organization provides scholarships for academically excelling students who are in financial need as well as providing grants for institutions that support students. In order to apply for scholarships, students require their high school transcripts (or a GED transcript) as well as the 1040 Tax Return.
Contact us:
The New Mexico Activities Association is an organization which organizes activities for high school aged students in New Mexico. This includes, both sports (like basketball, football, and wrestling) as well as other non-athletic activities (like chess, marching band, speech/debate, and FFA). The organization distributes 24 different scholarships to students who have participated in various activities in the state of New Mexico. Since 2007, over 400 students at approximately 130 NMAA member schools have been awarded scholarships to attend colleges or universities of their choice.
Contact us:
The Office of Navajo Nation Scholarship and Financial Assistance is the scholarship granting entity of the Navajo Nation. This includes financial need awards and awards for academic excellence (the Chief Manuelito Scholarship, which is based upon GPA and ACT scores). The organization is funded mostly by federal funds and Navajo Nation funds.
NOTE: Applicants much be enrolled members of the Navajo Nation to receive scholarships.
Contact us (Shiprock Agency Office):
The Free Application for Federal Student Aid or FAFSA is a program by the U.S. Department of Education, that is designed to connect students with financial aid. The FAFSA is an application where students fill out their information and financial status, and automatically connects them with federal aid that fits them best. Some of this aid is in the form of grants and scholarships, while other forms of aid are in the form of loans which need to be paid back. Additionally, many colleges use FAFSA data to determine which types of aid students are eligible for.
Contact us:
For many students, taking out loans is the only way that they can afford college. However, these loans can oftentimes be prohibitively difficult to pay back, where people are unable to both pay back their loans and support their current life. This results in significant financial hardship. Fortunately for these people, the federal Department of Education has several programs to forgive student loans under certain conditions (for example, if you are a teacher, nurse, government employee, or have a disability) or are able to deduct student loan payments from your federal taxes.
Contact us:
Scholarship America is a charity which helps connect students with the scholarships that they are eligible for. It includes a list of different scholarships, their eligibility requirements, amount, institutions eligible, and geographic restrictions. Students can apply for the scholarships online or from the website of the original institution. Each scholarship should have contact information for that specific scholarship.
Contact us:
Established after WWII, the GI Bill provides free college to veterans of the U.S. armed services who served in active duty. Most recently, this bill was updated with the Post-9/11 GI bill in 2008. In addition to paying tuition, the GI Bill can also pay for books, housing, and moving costs. While the main GI Bill Pays for active duty veterans, other bills pay for veterans in the reserve and who were not on active duty. Contact the VA Education and Training Department or the San Juan College Veteran Center for more details about the benefits that you are owed.
Contact us:
A first generation college student is defined as a students who is the first person in their family to attempt to receive a college education. Typically these students face unique and additional challenges, that students who are not first generation do not. The FirstGen Society is an academic organization designed to bring together first generation students in order to teach them about the college experience and to foster success together. While the organization was headquartered in Texas it has members across the United States.
Contact Us:
Varsity Tutoring is a national company that contracts out qualified tutors to visit with students in their home and other public places to tutor them in a variety of subjects. Varsity Tutoring also provides online tutoring, AI study tools, and other free studying resources. The organization also provides jobs for people who are interested in working as a tutor.
Contact us:
On Course: Strategies for Creating Success in College, Career, and Life
by
The First-Generation College Experience
by
The Student Wellbeing Toolkit: Preparing for Life at College, University and Beyond
by
Make the Most of It: A Guide to Loving Your College Years
by
