|
The library subscribes to many different databases. A database is basically a large electronic warehouse, accessible online, which stores the content (articles and other information) from journals, magazines, and other publications. Some databases focus on a particular subject or topic (nursing/allied health, psychology, or history, etc.), while others are more general and contain information about many different subjects and topics. Each database offers further instruction on how to use their site. Look for Help/Support/FAQ links within each database.
The databases link on the library homepage (https://libguides.sanjuancollege.edu/az.php) brings you to an A-to-Z list of all available databases. Use the dropdown menus above the database listings to narrow down the long list of databases to ones which are most likely to hold information related to the subject or topic you're researching. For example, click on the All Subjects dropdown menu to locate and select a particular subject to see a list of related databases.
Remember, when searching for articles in a database, be sure to always click the Full Text checkbox. This ensures that all articles in the search results contain the full text of the article and not just a preview or summary. If your assignment requires you to use scholarly/academic or peer-reviewed sources, click the Peer Reviewed checkbox also.
Step 1: Type in a keyword, phrase, title or author into search box and click "Go".
Step 2: Use the filter options on the left side of the search results screen to narrow your results: